

Newsletter - April 2021

To the members of the IOC of the ECTP

Dear Colleagues,

welcome to our yearly contact. I hope you are all well, happy and vaccinated. It seems that the end of this pandemic is visible, although maybe not so clear yet.

As you all know very well, the 2020 ECTP in Venice was postponed to 2023. Nevertheless, on November 27th, 2020, the ECTP Awards ceremony took place virtually, with the help and support of Netzsch. In this ceremony Professor Eckhard Vogel was the recipient of the Lifetime Award, and Dr Umberto Berardi, the recipient of the ECTP-Netzsch Young Scientist Award.

At the same ceremony, a new Annual Best Paper Award in memory of Dr Ared Cezairliyan was given for the first time, by the International Journal of Thermophysics. For 2020, the winner was a paper coauthored by Gavin Sutton (UK), Alexander Fateev (Denmark), Miguel A. Rodríguez-Conejo, Juan Meléndez, and Guillermo Guarnizo (Spain).

Details for all these you can find in this Newsletter, as well as all the announcements for relative conferences to come. In the meantime, please stay safe and healthy, I do hope to meet you all again in the near future...

IOC Secretariat: Marc J. Assael



ECTP Lifetime Award 2020

Professor Eckhard Vogel (Germany)

Probably professor Vogel's most interesting and most valuable work is on the measurement and correlation of viscosity in the dilute-gas region. His work in that region is unique, the viscosity measurements are characterized by the lowest possible uncertainty and the highest understanding of all processes involved. His glass oscillating-disk viscometer is surely the most accurate instrument in operation in that range today, and his dilute-gas measurements a) have served as reference values in order to calibrate other viscometers in this region, but also b) have formed the basis of correlation for most fluid reference correlations published today.

ECTP-NETZSCH Young Scientist Award 2020 Dr Umberto Berardi (Italy)

Dr Berardi is passionate about the relationship between buildings, the environment and ourselves, and sees advancements in technology as a major parameter. From automatic shading controls, to innovative thermal storage, the technology we use to engage with buildings is advancing quickly, including Dr Berardi's own research. Mostly concerned with improving building energy performance by incorporating novel techniques including nanotechnologies and aerogels, Dr Berardi is excited about the shape his work is taking and its potential for contributing to a reduction in energy consumption.

ARED CEZAIRLIYAN BEST PAPER AWARD



Ared Cezairliyan was an internationally acclaimed physicist in the field of high-temperature thermophysics, who was appointed as a researcher at the National Bureau of Standards (now NIST) and founded the now world-renowned Dynamic Thermophysical Measurements Laboratory. He did pioneering work in the field of measurements of thermodynamic and transport properties of metals and alloys at high temperatures with dynamic techniques. He founded the *International Journal of Thermophysics* in 1980 and served as its Editor-in-Chief until his death in 1997 [1], setting the standards for an internationally-respected journal known to all of those working in the field.

[1] Sengers, J.V. In Memoriam - Ared Cezairliyan (1934-1997). International Journal of Thermophysics 19, 351–353 (1998). <u>https://doi.org/10.1023/A:1022596907408</u>

In January 2020 the Editors and Publishers of **International Journal of Thermophysics** announced the creation of an annual best paper award, named after the journal's founding Editor, Dr Ared Cezairliyan. The creation of this award coincides with the 40th anniversary of the launch of the journal, which published its first issue in March 1980. The Cezairliyan Prize recognizes a paper judged to make a significant advance in the field of thermophysics, published in IJT in the previous calendar year, and is selected by a prize committee from the journal's Editorial Board. It carries a certificate and a cash award of \notin 1500 for the author, and is presented at the main thermophysics conference in each year (the Symposium on Thermophysical Properties, the European Conference on Thermophysical Properties, or the Asian Thermophysical Properties Conference). Further information is available <u>here</u>

2020 Award Recipients: Gavin Sutton (UK), Alexander Fateev (Denmark), Miguel A. Rodríguez-Conejo, Juan Meléndez, and Guillermo Guarnizo (Spain), <u>"Validation of Emission Spectroscopy Gas Temperature Measurements Using a Standard Flame Traceable to the International Temperature Scale of 1990 (ITS-90)</u>", Int. J. Thermophys. **40**:99 (2019).

ECTP LIFETIME AWARD

The Award is intended (a) to honour outstanding scientific work in any field of research on thermophysical properties, (b) to encourage efforts which help to understand and make it possible to predict the thermophysical properties of matter, (c) to underline the importance which the scientific community, as well as industry, attaches to the broadening of our knowledge about the thermophysical properties of matter.

1988

1996

2005

(UK)

(France)

Francois Cabannes

Hans E. Schmidt

(Germany)

Ronald P. Tye



1986 Eric Fitzer (Germany)



1993 Giuseppe Ruffino (Italy, posthumous)



2002 Kosta D. Maglic (Serbia)



2011 Sir William A. Wakeham (UK)



2014 William M. Haynes (USA)



1990 Raymond E. Taylor (USA)



1999 Roy Taylor (UK)



2008 Akira Nagashima (Japan)



2017 Francesco Righini (Italy)



2020 Eckhard Vogel (Germany)

ECTP-NETZSCH YOUNG SCIENTIST AWARD

The Award intends to recognize exceptional scientific achievement in any area of thermophysical properties research by a young person (no more than 40 years of age at the time of award presentation).



1999 Steffen Rudtsch (Germany)



2008 Juergen Brillo (Germany)



2017 Andriy Yakymovych (Austria)



2002 Brian Monaghan (UK)



Robert Hellmann (Germany)



2020 Umberto Berardi (Italy)



2005 Maria José V. Lourenço (Portugal)



2014 Mara G. Freire (Portugal)



21st Symposium on Thermophysical Properties

June 20-25, 2021 Boulder, CO, USA

Organizers: Dr D.G. Friend, Dr M.L. Huber, and Dr K. Kroenlein

https://thermosymposium.org/

Because of the ongoing global pandemic, the Symposium will be held as a **virtual event**.

- Preliminary Program is posted.
- Instructions for recording video presentations are posted.
- Registration is now open! (Early bird until May 15th)

13th ATPC, 2022

September 26-30, 2022, Sendai, Japan

The 13th Asian Thermophysical Properties Conference (ATPC2022) will be held in Fall 2022 in Sendai, JAPAN. Sendai is the largest city in the northeast region of Japan and easily accessible from all over the world by air and bullet train (90 min from Tokyo). Since founded by Lord "Date Masamune" over 400 years ago, Sendai has developed into a beautiful historical and academic city.



Conference Chair: Prof. H. Fukuyama

ITCC & ITES 2022

International Thermal Conductivity Conference & International Thermal Expansion Symposium

March 20-23, 2022, Boston, MA, USA



https://thermalconductivity.org/

Important deadlines:

Nov. 30, 2021: Final Abstracts Submission Nov. 30, 2021: Early-bird Registration Dec. 15, 2021: Abstracts Acceptance Feb. 20, 2022: Regular registration

thermophysical propertiesconferences.com

The site presents information on the ECTP, ATPC and STP, aiming to keep the history of these conferences alive, and to inform the users of forthcoming events.

If you have photographs from previous conferences, please help to improve the public record by sending them to Marc J. Assael (<u>assael@auth.gr</u>).